OUR HISTORY

FROM 1938 TO THE PRESENT DAY

SVDGUI-201712-PassionElipson-980x260.jpg

1938

multimoteur.png

From Multimoteur to Elipson

elipson2.png

1951

elipson3.png

1973

elipson4.png

1990

2010

elipson5.png

The history of Elipson is inextricably linked to its general manager, Joseph Léon. Formed at the Arts et Métiers, his ingenuity and the simplicity of the solutions he brings will make him one of the pioneers in the world of sound reproduction and audiophilia.

Joseph Léon joined the Multimoteur company in 1946, which was at that time a small company specializing in the production of electric motors for toys that had existed since 1938. The company also produced miniature electrical equipment used in the construction of transformers, generators and alternators.


The first audio research carried out by Mr Bazin and Mr Latour took place in 1940, research which later gave birth to the famous "BS50 Chambord" model: a sphere with an elliptical reflector. The arrival of Joseph Léon at the head of the company in 1948 brought a new wind, and the company began extensive research into reflectors and resonators. Finally, in 1951, Multimoteur became Elipson, a contraction of "ellipse" and "son" (and therefore to be pronounced "Elipson" and not "Elipsonne").

Research in all directions.

Joseph Léon, thanks to his training as an engineer, integrates into Elipson's creations a whole research made of perfection and rigour. Starting from his personal observation that the loudspeaker is and will remain the weakest point in sound reproduction, he sets out to succeed in producing the truest and most vivid sound, with all the subjectivity that this includes.

The heart of Joseph Léon's research is to concentrate all the acoustic energy of the loudspeaker through the reflector, which will give Elipson loudspeakers a style never seen before, and at the time ultramodern. Its cone and reflector system now allows large spaces to be sounded with precision and quality.

The large number of models from this period reflects the profusion of ideas and the ever more perfectionist search for sound reproduction.

recherche_joseph_leon.PNG
LEGACY_3230_05.jpg

Elipson's revival

In 2008, a young entrepreneur in love with the brand took over the direction of Elipson with his partner, Eric James. Philippe Carré wanted to revive the avant-garde design and sound perfection that had made the brand so successful.

To achieve this, he repositioned the brand in the world of decoration and design. This atypical positioning allows Elipson to find a place apart in the hi-fi world today. To achieve this, it has surrounded itself with a new creative director in the person of Jean-Yves Le Porcher and the designer Jullien Thaler, well known in the audiophile world for his passion for Elipson speakers and his website dedicated to the brand's heritage.

One of the first creations of this new team is the 4260 loudspeaker, which re-inscribes Elipson in its history and its know-how in high fidelity. For the public, Elipson creates the Planet L and Planet M, spherical speakers which illustrate the will of the brand to invest the territory of the house, thanks to an object as beautiful as acoustically powerful. The wideband of the historical speakers is replaced by a coaxial loudspeaker, which focuses the sound in a precise way and contributes to create a deep and wide sound scene.

 

Elipson thus synthesizes the best of both eras.

ELIPSON-JosephLeon_MinistrePeyrefitte.jp
ELI_Couv_experimentationGRM-INA.jpg
Elipson_AtelierFabrication-VitrysurSeine
Elipson_AtelierFabrication-VitrysurSeine

1938

Creation of Multimoteur

1948

Joseph Léon becomes Director General

1951

Multimoteur becomes Elipson

60V21

60V21_ELIPSON.jpg

1953

BS 50

BS 50-02.jpg

1954

45S8

45S8-elipson

1958

Sound system for the French pavilion at the Brussels World Fair

1960

Beginning of partnerships with ORTF

1962

La Religieuse

LA RELIGIEUSE-04.jpg

1966

502

502-elipson.jpg

1968

Sound system for the Grenoble Olympic Games

4050

4050-06.jpg

1972

1303

1303 elipson.jpg

1973

Beginning of wooden cabinet speakers

1986

L'Oeuf

L'oeuf-elipson

1987

Death of Joseph Léon

1403

1403.jpg

1988

1405

1405.jpg

1990

1304

1304.jpg

1992

L'Espace

L'Espace.jpg

2001

4240 Millenium

4240 Millenium

2004

Creation of the website www.passion-elipson.com

Signature 201

Signature 201.jpg

2006

Planet BT

Planet BT.jpg

2008

Acquisition of Elipson by the AV Industry group

2010

4260

4260.jpg

2010

Planet L

Planet L.jpg

2011

Music Center.jpg

Music Center

2011

Planet M

Planet M.jpg

2011

Sound Tree

Sound Tree.jpg

2012

BS 50 Tribute

Bs 50 Tribute.jpg

2012

Planet LW

Planet LW.jpg

2012

AS 30 Tribute

AS 30 Tribute.jpg

2012

Planet Sub

Planet Sub.jpg

2012

Elipson cube

Elipson cube.jpg

2012

Partnership with Habitat begins

2013

Timber.jpg

Timber

2014

Lenny

Lenny.jpg

2015

1303 Tribute

1303 Tribute.jpg

2015

Alpha 100

Alpha 100.jpg

2016

Prestige Facet 8B

Prestige Facet 8B.jpg

2017

2018

Infinite 14

Infinite 14.jpg

Prestige Facet 34F

Prestige Facet 34F.jpg

2019

W35

W35.jpg

2019

Start of partnership with DCW Edition

2019

Legacy 3230

2022

To be continued...

NOTRE HISTOIRE

​DE 1938 À NOS JOURS

SVDGUI-201712-PassionElipson-980x260.jpg

1938

multimoteur.png

De Multimoteur à Elipson

elipson2.png

1951

elipson3.png

1973

elipson4.png

1990

2010

elipson5.png

L'histoire d'Elipson est indissociable de celle de son directeur général Joseph Léon. Formé aux Arts et Métiers, son ingéniosité et la simplicité des solutions qui apporte le fera devenir l'un des pionniers de l'histoire de la restitution sonore et de l'audiophilie.

Joseph Léon rejoint la société Multimoteur en 1946, qui n'est à ce moment qu'une petite entreprise spécialisée dans la production de moteurs électriques pour jouets existant depuis 1938. L'entreprise produit également des équipements électriques miniatures utilisés dans la construction de transformateurs, de générateurs et d'alternateurs.

 

Les premières recherches audio faites par Mr Bazin et Mr Latour ont lieux en 1940, recherches qui donneront plus tard le fameux modèle "BS50 Chambord" : une boule avec un réflecteur elliptique. L'arrivée de Joseph Léon à la tête de l'entreprise en 1948 insuffle un vent nouveau et l'entreprise entreprend des recherches tous azimuts sur les réflecteurs et les résonateurs. Enfin, en 1951, Multimoteur devient Elipson, contraction de "ellipse" et de "son" (et donc à prononcer "Elipson" et non "Elipsonne).

Des recherches tous azimuts.

Joseph Léon, grâce à sa formation d'ingénieure, intègre aux créations Elipson toute une recherche faite de perfectionnement et de rigueur. Partant de son constat personnel que le haut-parleur est et restera le point faible de la restitution sonore, il se met en quête de réussir à produire le son le plus vrai et vivant, avec toute la subjectivité que cela comprend.

Le cœur de la recherche de Joseph Léon est de concentrer toute l'énergie acoustique du haut-parleur par le biais du réflecteur, ce qui offrira aux enceintes Elipson un style encore jamais vu, et à l'époque ultramoderne. Son système de conque et de réflecteur permet désormais de sonoriser de grands espaces avec précision et qualité.

Le nombre très conséquent de modèle de cette époque reflète la profusion d'idée et de recherche toujours plus perfectionniste de restitution sonore.

recherche_joseph_leon.PNG
LEGACY_3230_05.jpg

Le renouveau d'Elipson

En 2008, un jeune entrepreneur amoureux de la marque reprend, avec son associé Éric James, les rênes d’Elipson. Philippe Carré, souhaite renouer avec le design avant-gardiste et la perfection sonore qui ont fait le succès de la marque.

Pour y parvenir, il repositionne la marque dans l’univers de la décoration et du design. Ce positionnement atypique permet à Elipson de trouver une place à part dans le milieu de la hi-fi d’aujourd’hui. Pour cela il s'entoure d’un nouveau directeur de création en la personne de Jean-Yves Le Porcher et du designer Jullien Thaler, bien connu dans le milieu audiophile pour sa passion des enceintes Elipson et son site Web dédié au patrimoine de la marque.

 

L’une des premières réalisations de cette nouvelle équipe est l’enceinte 4260 pour réinscrire Elipson dans son histoire et son savoir-faire en très haute-fidélité. Pour le grand public, Elipson crée les Planet L et Planet M, des enceintes sphériques qui illustrent la volonté de la marque d’investir le territoire de la maison, grâce à un objet aussi beau qu’acoustiquement performant. Le large bande des enceintes historique est remplacé par un haut-parleur coaxial qui focalise le son de manière précise et contribue à créer une scène sonore profonde et large.

 

Elipson synthétise ainsi le meilleur des deux époques.

ELIPSON-JosephLeon_MinistrePeyrefitte.jp
ELI_Couv_experimentationGRM-INA.jpg
Elipson_AtelierFabrication-VitrysurSeine
Elipson_AtelierFabrication-VitrysurSeine

1938

Création de la société Multimoteur

1948

Joseph Léon devient directeur général

1951

Multimoteur devient Elipson

60V21

60V21_ELIPSON.jpg

1953

BS 50

BS 50-02.jpg

1954

45S8

45S8-elipson

1958

Sonorisation du pavillon français à l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles

1960

Début des partenariats avec l'ORTF

1962

La Religieuse

LA RELIGIEUSE-04.jpg

1966

502

502-elipson.jpg

1968

Sonorisation des Jeux Olympiques de Grenoble

4050

4050-06.jpg

1972

1303

1303 elipson.jpg

1973

Début des enceintes à coffret bois

1986

L'Oeuf

L'oeuf-elipson

1987

Décès de Joseph Léon

1403

1403.jpg

1988

1405

1405.jpg

1990

1304

1304.jpg

1992

L'Espace

L'Espace.jpg

2001

4240 Millenium

4240 Millenium

2004

Création du site www.passion-elipson.com

Signature 201

Signature 201.jpg

2006

Planet BT

Planet BT.jpg

2008

Rachat d'Elipson par le groupe AV Industry

2010

4260

4260.jpg

2010

Planet L

Planet L.jpg

2011

Music Center.jpg

Music Center

2011

Planet M

Planet M.jpg

2011

Sound Tree

Sound Tree.jpg

2012

BS 50 Tribute

Bs 50 Tribute.jpg

2012

Planet LW

Planet LW.jpg

2012

AS 30 Tribute

AS 30 Tribute.jpg

2012

Planet Sub

Planet Sub.jpg

2012

Elipson cube

Elipson cube.jpg

2012

Début du partenariat avec Habitat

2013

Timber.jpg

Timber

2014

Lenny

Lenny.jpg

2015

1303 Tribute

1303 Tribute.jpg

2015

Alpha 100

Alpha 100.jpg

2016

Prestige Facet 8B

Prestige Facet 8B.jpg

2017

2018

Infinite 14

Infinite 14.jpg

Prestige Facet 34F

Prestige Facet 34F.jpg

2019

W35

W35.jpg

2019

Début du partenariat avec DCW Edition

2019

Legacy 3230

2022

To be continued...